Day One

Taking liberties with the word ‘log’ by adding a ‘b’ in front of it. Because, God knows, if I’m left to write something on my computer, it’ll be saved on my desktop and then shuffled into an Inception-like folder of folders of other folders so, here, where I won’t lose it: (b)log!

I met with my 126 tutee today after a bit of a kerfuffle yesterday at Starbucks. (Note to self: buy coffee from Roche Bros.) Turns out we both live in Freeman and are both from Illinwaa, albeit from different parts. I could swear that I had a whole speech/introduction planned, but it’s like I see people and my mind focuses solely on the fact that I’m having a human interaction, not that anything of substance needs to happen during it.

What I gathered from this meeting is that tutee X likes current events and neuroscience, together, preferably. She’s also amenable to writing a paper about a story about current events or based on current events.  I don’t know of any stories like that. Maybe the New Yorker will have something? IDK.

Things to Work On:

  • X should stop making those elaborate detailed outlines–sounds like trying to start a paper without actually starting a paper
  • What’s wrong with passive voice? Unless it’s every single line. Doesn’t Word correct stuff like that? Maybe get her to read some varied essays or something
  • Develop style of writing–big task, don’t think I can do this, maybe just give her lots of examples, lots of free writing, no more outlines
  • Thesis statements–she apparently tries to do too much in them, perhaps this is a bit of perfectionism peeking out, IDK
  • Try to get X to have fun with writing, seems like she thinks this is a little ‘means to an end’-like

 

Leave a comment