Leap Day

We briefly went over the final draft of the first paper. It was leagues better than the first draft had been, though, as I mentioned during the meeting, I was a little disappointed at some of the revisions that didn’t happen. Perhaps that may just have been a matter of personal taste though–my comments did sort of feel as if I were inserting myself into the paper a bit too much, especially on a micro level. I think that there’s a lot of merit in her revisions and in coming so far with the draft. Perhaps I should take a more laissez-faire approach to the next paper.

Then we talked about the second paper. I’d had a few articles printed out which were related to one of the clips we watched last time about the influence of social networks. She didn’t, however, feel that they were interesting or that they would provide her with enough material to argue about, which is fair enough. We talked about some more options about the second paper and decided that neuroscience and psychology articles about decision making would be more interesting to her. Next week, I’ll assign the second paper based on these articles that I find.

We decided to go over one of the articles I’d brought because she said she’d started receiving a few assignments dealing with reading articles. I took her through what a typical article might consist of, how to read it, how to analyze it. Then we looked at some graphs in the paper and because it was relevant to an upcoming assignment of hers, we talked about how to write analyses of them.

Leave a comment